This 114-acre forest was an active farm from 1765 to 1920; for another fifty years it was used for pasturage and timber. Numerous stone walls attest to this history. Now conserved for timber and wildlife habitat, the land was donated to the New England Forestry Foundation by an heir of the family who had owned it since 1841. The land is quite diverse, mostly wooded but with a power line right-of-way providing a shrubby corridor. The main trail to the west of Rte. 68 leads to a boggy stand of spruce and a wonderful stream, Dunham Brook, part of the larger Millers River watershed. The old road through the forest is used in winter as a link in a snowmobile trail; on the east side of Rte. 68 it connects to trails through the Birch Hill Wildlife Management Area.Directions:
From Rte. 2, take Exit 19 (Rte. 2A). Very near exit go north onto Royalston Rd. Drive to end, turn left onto Rte. 68, and continue through South Royalston center to entrance on left. Explore trails on both sides of road.